#13…

Image

I help with the local high school football team. Great kids. Great program. It’s a true community of young men. It’s a brotherhood, a family. They make me a better person and I can only pray in some way its reciprocal. On December 21st, 2011, the first day of Christmas Break, one of our sophomores was in a car accident. He’s now a C-4 quadriplegic. His life forever changed. On Christmas Day, I remember praying, “God I don’t understand how a virgin gives birth, and I don’t understand why a 16 year old athlete becomes a quadriplegic.”

A Christian for over 20 years, I question God frequently. He seems cool with it. Every relationship has seasons, and ours is no exception. There are seasons when He and I are pretty tight, and there are seasons where He and I aren’t seeing eye-to-eye. One thing I’ve realized, it’s through my questioning that He draws me into the deepest seasons of introspection. I’ve been in such a season for the last 3 weeks. Galatians 6:4 “Make a careful exploration of who you are and the work you have been given, and then sink yourself into that.” I can’t fix his situation. I can’t change places with him. Feeling useless really pisses me off. I learned at church to “pray likes it real.” I had been trying, but the only thing that seemed real was that this kid can’t move.

Romans 9:16, “It does not, therefore, depend on human desire or effort, but on God’s mercy.” Every time someone gets admitted into this kid’s room, he prays for them. Another kid involved in the wreck accepted Christ at his bedside. Last week, five of his friends and his own brother, rededicated their lives. How humbling to realize I’ve been distracted by his diagnosis, and he’s been busy changing lives.  

During a recent visit, his dad asked him how much he loved him. Another person and I picked up his hands and held them out. He told his dad, “This much.” I haven’t been able to get that moment out of my heart. I doubt I ever will. Today at church, the worship leader referenced Exodus 17:10-13 “So Joshua fought the Amalekites as Moses had ordered, and Moses, Aaron and Hur went to the top of the hill. As long as Moses held up his hands, the Israelites were winning, but whenever he lowered his hands, the Amalekites were winning. When Moses’ hands grew tired, they took a stone and put it under him and he sat on it. Aaron and Hur held his hands up—one on one side, one on the other—so that his hands remained steady till sunset. Joshua overcame the Amalekite army.”

#13 has a battle ahead. He’s adamant he will walk again. We need to be there to hold his hands up and keep them steady so he can win this battle. Galatians 6:2 calls us to fulfill the law of Christ by carrying each other’s burdens. Family’s family. 

– unfiltered mentalist fighting for second

About KeeganODaniel

unfiltered mentalist fighting for second | living, loving, laughing from the riverbanks | leading from a cornfield | instructing from the hill
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #13…

  1. Great message here, Keegan. Lindy’s comments this morning were right on target…awesome community we have wrapping their arms around the Hiser’s.
    Thanks for the share!
    In His Love,
    Kristin

  2. Kylee Fritz says:

    This touched my heart & had me in tears throughout the whole way. He has inspired many & this blog will pull through to many peopl, like it did me. Thank you, Keegan. It had put a lot through me & I have realized more than I did before. I’m really thankful to be inspired by just the little things. It is much appreciated. Shelby is gonna pull through this & come out stronger than ever. Trust in God, and all things are possibly.

Leave a Reply

